Heypenny – Cop Car

Leave a comment

March 15, 2012 by zdueck

In case you somehow thought I had amassed all the music in my digital library through MPAA approved channels, let me put your mind at ease and assure you that I have not spent millions upon millions of dollars on my extensive music collection. One of my favourite hotspots to acquire new music is filestube.com. Don’t know why I prefer it over torrenting as torrents are definitely less hassle-some (although sometimes harder to find depending on the poularity of the band), but ever since I was in a dorm room that had banned torrenting from their server I found a way to circumvent their firewall through direct downloads. Which is essentially a long way to say I frequent filestube on a pretty regular basis (though that may soon change with the shutdown of megaupload). Lately I’ve been noticing that they’ve started posting a lot of ads that begin shooting audio and video at you on their search page without any sort of prompting, and while most of this is people trying to sell you something in their nice and professional salesperson voice (it’s usually dish detergent), there is one commercial that is nothing but this music video.

I have yet to decide if this song is any good. It’s fun but the lyrics are a little odd and I’m still on the fence as to whether it’s because they’re super deep and I haven’t realized it yet or if they are just that, weird lyrics with no deeper intent behind them whatsoever. So naturally, having the potential of being half-way decent song with mysterious origins, my curiosity was peaked and I clicked the link only to find out that not only was I brought somewhere that had absolutely nothing to do with the band in the music video, it didn’t even mention them or the music video on the site. At first I was a little taken aback by the audacity of the internet for so blatantly misusing advertisements, but that quickly grew into intrigue by what the people of this site thought they would accomplish with an entirely irrelevant music video. I became fascinated and wanted to find the band all the more. Eventually I came across a random thread where the same question was asked, and the response had the exact info I was looking for right down to the name of the band, lyrics and song contained in this bizarre ad campaign. So I checked out their site and wouldn’t you know it, no mention of the advertisement there either… It may be one of the weirdest things I’ve ever seen online (which is quite the feat) but I tend not to complain about anything that leads me to new music… So here’s to Heypenny, one of the oddest musical discoveries I’ve ever made.

Leave a Reply

Tasty Tonal Treats

Enter your email address for new content every week!

Archives

