Welcome to Tonal Discord.

1

February 2, 2012 by zdueck

               Tonality
to·nal·i·ty   [toh-nal-i-tee] -noun, pl.-ties.
1. Music.
a. the sum of relations, melodic and harmonic, existing between the tones of a scale or musical system.
b. a particular scale or system of tones; a key.

               Discord
dis·cord   [n. dis-kawrd; v. dis-kawrd] -noun
1. lack of concord or harmony between persons or things: marital discord.
2. Music. an inharmonious combination of musical tones sounded together.
3. any confused or harsh noise; dissonance.

   Why ‘Tonal Discord’? Well it’s really quite simple. Because my musical tastes are so vast there is absolutely no harmony within the types of music I enjoy. It’s not like I enjoy Folk, Bluegrass and Country, I enjoy virtually everything under the sun. And Legitimately enjoy it, not just tolerate it. Some have called my taste undiscerning but I prefer to think of it as enlightened. Everything people create has the potential for greatness and writing off an entire genre or style of music as terrible is, in my eyes, the fault of the listener… not the musicians. Therefor the tones I tend to listen to are not always the most complimentary, creating a tonal discord of sorts.

   So what you can expect from this is an attempt to come at everything from a neutral place regardless of how far from my favorite tastes they may stray. I hope to review CD’s, highlight bands that I enjoy and that are doing interesting things, Look at cool instruments, show you my own endeavours into making my own instruments and pretty much any other remotely musical tangent I feel like going off on. I don’t yet know what that all may entail, but whatever it is I’m sure at least a couple of you out there will find this mildly entertaining.

One thought on “Welcome to Tonal Discord.

  1. lazermouse says:

    Great song picks, thanks for sharing 🙂

Leave a Reply

Tasty Tonal Treats

Enter your email address for new content every week!

Archives

